Pizza makes friends

???????????????????????????????

For where two or three are gathered in my name, there am I among them. (Matthew 18:20)

A few nights ago, I was studying at the library with some friends when another friend came bounding up to our table, saying, “I’ve got three boxes of pizza outside and lots of coke! Do you want some?” I had just eaten dinner, but everyone else was hungry so we half ran half walked out the door into the lobby of the library, grabbing people along the way, offering them free food.

In a matter of minutes we were happily munching away at warmish pizza which my friend had gotten from an info session. Since we weren’t allowed to bring the pizza into the library itself, we just stood in the lobby. My pizza friend had to go to class, so the rest of us promised him that we would give away the rest of the pizza. I kept asking people walking by if they wanted pizza, but I think they were freaked out by my enthusiasm. Two guys ended up joining us for our impromptu dinner. We made small talk, but in the end we parted ways and went back to studying.

I hope my friends and I reflected God in that moment. We didn’t explicitly share the gospel with those people or invite them to come join us at church, but we sat with them. I hope we did not just give them pizza because we were trying to get rid of it. I hope it was because we wanted to show them the love of Christ. And I am thankful that God is so perfect and holy that He is able to use us, weak, dirty sinners, to bring glory to His Name.

But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me. (2 Corinthians 13:5)

Leave a Reply

