I almost went to Antarctica!

I did not go to Antarctica. But I was pretty darn close! During my Christmas vacation, I went on a lovely cruise around the cape of South America.

Map

It was so wonderful! I ate, I slept, and I ate some more.

Here’s a sneak peek of what I did!

In Puerto Montt, I ate a delicious Chilean lunch and we looked at some volcanoes.

DSC08648

Then we sailed uneventfully through the Chilean Fjords and the Strait of Magellan.

Then began our penguin parade! My mom had read a bajillion stories online of people who had booked tours to look at wild penguins, only to have them be cancelled by terrible weather. So she booked three penguin tours for us. We saw penguins at all three places: Punta Arenas, Ushuaia, and Punta Tombo.

After days of penguin-watching, it was time to see some of the cities of South America! We drank wine in Montevideo and visited Evita in Buenos Aires. (In the picture below, Evita is singing “Don’t Cry for Me, Argentina!!” on the side of a building for everyone in Buenos Aires to see! Only kidding. Most likely she was speaking up for the poor and fighting for labour rights.)

More detailed posts are on their way! It was a long trip but I didn’t really do that much because I was on a cruise and that means do nothing but relax.

Leave a Reply

