Puerto Montt

The first stop of our exciting South American cruise was Puerto Montt. We went on a bus tour with a very knowledgeable tour guide who told us a lot about the history of Chile. I don’t really remember much of it.

Our first stop of the tour was for lunch, which consisted of salmon, potatoes, and some vegetables! Chile used to be the second largest producer of salmon in the world! So that is why we had salmon. It tasted delicious! We also saw some chickens in the yard.

Then we went to the Vicente Perez Rosales National Park to look at the Petrohué Falls! The water was a beautiful bluish green and the rocks were a greyish black and everything was just so beautiful! There was also a really nice view of the Osorno volcano. There are two volcanoes in the area, Osorno and some other one which I don’t know the name of (and which I cannot even find on the internet!). Osorno’s summit is a nice cone shape, and our tour guide kept referring to the other volcano as the ugly one because it was just a bit cragglier, which is probably why I can’t find its name on the internet because I guess all the Chileans think it is ugly.

Then I fell asleep in the van and woke up inexplicably at a llama ranch. Still not sure why I was there. I think it was to get another view of the volcano.

Southern Chile has a lot of German influence because of immigration in the early 20th century, so we visited a town called Frutillar to look at German architecture. It was a quiet and quaint little town with a big and beautiful concert hall! My camera died so I wasn’t able to take a picture of the concert hall, but you should look it up online!

The rest of our van tour was spent driving around the city of Puerto Montt. It was a nice, relaxing way to begin my adventure in South America! Woooo!

4 thoughts on “Puerto Montt

  1. ArestlessTraveler says:

    I’m not sure but the name of the volcano you are looking for is probably the “puntiagudo” which basically means pointy one. I say I’m not sure because I went to Puerto Montt and surroundings quite a few years ago and I recall there were 3 volcanoes but you couldn’t see all three from all locations… I think the Puntiagudo one was the one you could see from Puerto Montt…. as for the other one – besides the osorno one – I really can’t recall its name!

Leave a Reply

