A List of Things My Kids Have Said Over the Past Four Weeks

Yesterday was my last day of placement, so I made some thank you cards for my teacher, as well as some admin staff (*cough so that I can get a job ahem wink nudge cough*).

I learned a lot from my experience and I’m super excited to spend the rest of my life hanging out with teenagers.

To celebrate, here is a list of things I heard my kids say over the past four weeks that were sort of cute/funny, but mostly just weird.

1. “I hope you do not feel too hard to take care of the crops and the children.”

  • Teaching ESL is actually the cutest thing ever. This came from an assignment in which students had to write a letter home from the trenches during World War I.

2. “Eventually the ideas of life, liberty, and freedoms spread across the Atlantic to France, a once great nation that lay impoverished in the ashes of war.”

  • This kid told me he was writing me a novel.

3. “An example of freedom of peaceful assembly is when people had that protest when they discovered that KFC tortured its chickens before cooking them! That’s why no one eats KFC anymore … that’s why I work at McDonald’s.”

  • … How did they let me teach Grade 11 Law?!

4. “Stop moving me.”

  • I had asked the kids to give me feedback. What should IĀ start doing, what should IĀ stop doing, and what should IĀ continue doing? This was one kid’s stop. He was a troublemaker.

5. “You look like you’re 12 years old.”

  • My kids said this to me even after I told them my age … young teacher problems …
Leave a Reply

