Hamilton: FOOD

This past weekend, I visited the lovely city of Hamilton, which is a very easy bus ride away from Toronto. I ate a lot there. Here are some highlights!

I got into Hamilton on Friday, just in time for dinner. We were told we had to wait ONE HOUR AND TEN MINUTES at the ultra-hip and consequently busy Bread Bar, so we walked down Locke Street, which is full of little shops and restaurants.

Outside the Brown Dog Bootleg Cafe was a sign that said something along the lines of “Come in, we have free coffee, it’s very cold outside!” So we went inside and got free coffee. The decor was really pretty and if I lived in Hamilton, I would definitely come here to study.

wpid-img_20150327_195403.jpg

There’s also beer and sandwiches and crepes, on top of all the caffeinated goodness. I couldn’t just get a free coffee because that would be really cheap, so I also got a Mars bar fritter (a deep fried Mars bar!). It was cavities and a heart attack all rolled up into a gooey and crunchy and delicious dessert! It tasted very good and was the perfect snack before dinner.

wpid-img_20150327_195440.jpg

Amazingly, I still had room for dinner. A waitress from Bread Bar called us while we were still at the cafe to tell us that our table was ready. My friend screamed into the phone “YES, WE’RE COMING,” even before the waitress said anything. We were that excited to eat!

Bread Bar is also decorated really nicely. There was a large image of fresh, glistening vegetables pasted onto a wall, but I didn’t take a picture because I would have creeped out the people sitting in front of it.

I had a White Florentine pizza, which had white sauce, kale, roasted chicken, and squash on it. It was delicious and I love kale! (Not because it’s trendy, but because it’s delicious! Okay maybe because it’s trendy.)

wpid-img_20150327_205658.jpgThe next day, I went to Koosh Bistro for lunch. It is a quiet little Italian spot in Westdale. Artwork for sale was hanging on the walls and made the place look even fancier!

wpid-img_20150328_123101.jpg

We were given bread with olive oil and balsamic vinegar (YUM!) as an appetizer. My friend got a salad because she is healthy but I got a carrot and ginger and maybe squash soup that was creamy and super tasty! I don’t normally like ginger but in this case, the ginger gave the soup a nice kick! For the main course, I had risotto. I don’t remember what was in it but it was yummy. Now that I look at the picture, I see steak. I love steak.

P.S. A pretty good restaurant in Toronto!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

