God is Good!

image

The last few months have been pretty wild. My transition from student to working life has been quite sudden, and God has been opening doors for me left right up down all over the place! I’ve obviously been very pleased as I inch closer and closer to a permanent job in this horribly difficult job market.

But I’ve also found myself wondering, “God, why are you so good to me?” I don’t deserve any of this. In fact, I feel a bit weird being on the receiving end of all of these wonderful gifts!

And then I remembered – God’s goodness towards me is not a reflection of me, it’s a reflection of Him. God is so good to me because that’s just how He is! He is good! And He already gave us the ultimate gift – an eternal relationship with Him through the work of Jesus Christ on the cross. Jesus saved me from certain death, He saved me from the grip of sin and He saved me from the wrath of God.

I am learning to stop questioning God’s goodness and to see these blessings as opportunities to see God’s goodness in action in my life. I don’t deserve any of these gifts, but they are a reminder of how good my God is.

“Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life, and I shall dwell in the house of the Lord forever.” (Psalm 23:6)

P. S. I wrote about God’s goodness here too.
P. P. S. I guess the picture above is unrelated but I thank God for nature; the leaves are so beautiful this year!

Leave a Reply

