My Pencil Case

Wow, do I have a story for you!

The other day, I was sitting in a Starbucks, minding my own business and regretting my decision to not use a fake name when ordering my drink. I was also doing a bit of work, so my books and papers and writing utensils were strewn about.

Suddenly, an older fellow approached me, screaming, “WHERE DID YOU GET THIS PENCIL CASE?! WHERE DID YOU GET IT?!?!????!!!!”

“Uhh … um, Staples,” I stammered. I was slightly shocked and so afraid.

“HOW LONG HAVE YOU HAD THIS PENCIL CASE?!” the man screamed. By now everyone in the Starbucks was staring and I was thankful that if I were to be attacked at least there would be several witnesses.

To answer his question, I looked at my pencil case thoughtfully. “Around 10 years?” I answered uncertainly.

“AND IT’S HOLDING UP, RIGHT?! IT’S DOING WELL?” the man bellowed.

I nodded.

He grinned triumphantly. “I USED TO WORK FOR STAPLES!” Then he pointed at the pencil case and said, “I MADE THAT PENCIL CASE!”

At this point, I was no longer afraid and in fact, I was quite happy for the guy! “Wow, congratulations!” I said in a congratulatory manner. “It really is a great pencil case!”

Then he walked away. And I was so happy because I made his day, and he made mine.

image

The pencil case in question.

3 thoughts on “My Pencil Case

Leave a Reply

