Nature in Hamilton

I am slowly unraveling due to the joys of teaching summer school, so the pictures in this post are from a thousand weekends ago! I went to Hamilton earlier this month (oh, not actually a thousand weekends!) for a very wonderful and restful church retreat, and some friends and I took some time to explore the natural part of the city!

Also, I love Hamilton. It is a pretty cool place and it’s not too far away!

First, we visited Princess Point Trail. We walked along fairly well-kept trails so it didn’t feel too nature-y. But there was a view of the water and the trees and that is enough nature for my city-dwelling soul!

Next was Sam Lawrence Park, to get a view of downtown Hamilton. You also get a nice view of the smoky industrial factories in the distance! There are beautiful flowers and lots of berries here too! A berry got trapped between my foot and my shoe so I stepped on it and it squooshed and it looked like I was bleeding! It was very exciting.

With all the extreme heat warnings around here, it can seem very scary to step foot outside our lovely air-conditioned homes, but soon it will be winter and it may not be as nice to explore nature then! My plan is to go on more walks around the neighbourhood!

One thought on “Nature in Hamilton

Leave a Reply

