Bell Park, Sudbury

Last week, I went to the lovely town of Sudbury to run a week-long summer camp at the only Chinese church in town! It was a really great time and I learned a lot. God really proved to me that He is in control of everything, because I was all over the place and very disorganized in terms of planning, but He really blessed me with receptive and respectful kids.

“Not that I am speaking of being in need, for I have learned in whatever situation I am to be content. I know how to be brought low, and I know how to abound. In any and every circumstance, I have learned the secret of facing plenty and hunger, abundance and need. I can do all things through him who strengthens me.” (Philippians 4: 11-13)

These verses remind me that regardless of what I do or what happens around me, God is always in control. Even when kids are screaming or jumping on me, I can be joyful and content!

During one of the days of camp, we took a little break and went to Bell Park. It’s a really fun place to hang out on a hot summer day! The parking situation is great, but I think traffic and car things in Sudbury are just fantastic compared to the overpopulated Greater Toronto Area.

There is a lot of green space, which was great for us, because the kids ran around until they were very tired. Another way to tire kids out at Bell Park is by going to the playground. (I didn’t get a picture, but it’s a pretty sweet playground!) Several gazebos are scattered throughout the park, providing much needed shade and some picnic tables, as well as great views of the beautiful Ramsey Lake. A nice, walkable path runs all along the coastline, and it’s all very scenic and idyllic. You can even walk all the way to Science North, which is the science centre in Sudbury.

Of course, one of the highlights of Bell Park is the beach! The water was a very cool temperature and very comfortable. There is also a lifeguard in case you’re afraid, but the water is pretty shallow so there’s really not much swimming to be done.

Sudbury is now one of those cities that have caught my interest; in the past, I thought nothing of it, but this trip showed me that there are some pretty interesting and exciting things to do in the land of the Big Nickel!

Leave a Reply

