Dangerous Dan Does Deutschland!!!!

I still have a New York City: FUN post in the works, but writing about a trip from 3 months ago requires digging up old memories, old photos, and my travel journal, and I just don’t have time for that right now. What I do have time for is a quick conversation with my favourite friend, Dangerous Dan. Dangerous Dan just came back from an exciting journey in Germany, and his memories are fresh as fruit, so I’m going to interview him and inject some excitement in this boring and recently kind of lifeless blog!!!!!

Describe your itinerary. 

We stayed in Bremen. One of the big ideas of the trip was to use the train as much as possible, because my dad really likes trains, so by extension, I really like trains too. We got one of those monthly passes and then it’s like … You get 5 days, I think, for 5 days we were able to take the train anywhere we wanted. We went to Hamburg, Dusseldorf, Cologne, Berlin, a place called Lubeck (“How do you spell that?” “You should look it up.”). That’s it, actually.

 

What was the best meal you had there?

I actually really liked my lunch in Berlin, at that kadeewee whatever (KaDeWe, or Kaufhas des Westens). It’s a department store. It has a lot of luxury brands and they sell expensive stuff. The cafeteria on the top floor was really good. I had a schnitzel which was really good, and this apple pie-ish thing. That was really good.

What was your favourite part of the trip?

Probably the miniature museum. Miniature wonderland (Miniatur Wunderland), I think is the official name? That was actually amazing, how detailed everything was. You look, and like … the little mini people actually moved! So if there were mini people in a concert hall, or musicians in a concert hall, the conductor would be conducting and the musicians would be playing! So it was quite amazing.

 

Did you have any unpleasant experiences? Explain. 

Not really. I would say if you’re going to go to Germany, try to find a hotel that’s not near bars or something like that. Germans really enjoy their beer … there’s nothing wrong with it, but some nights, it gets kinda nuts. So it was kind of difficult to sleep a couple of nights. That’s about it.

If I were to go to Germany, what are the top 3 things that I must do?

  1. You have to check out the Miniatur Wunderland.
  2. You could probably spend a month in Berlin (there’s just so much to do there; you could go there over and over again).
  3. Go to a Christmas market. We have a pretty weak one in the Distillery District. (It’s okay, but you have to pay like $10 to get in and it’s not really the same.) In Germany, even in the smallest town, the whole square is a Christmas market and they put so much effort into it, so it’s really cool.

 

Thank you Dangerous Dan for sharing a bit about your exciting trip to Germany! I wish I could’ve come but I was busy drowning in marking and children’s tears.

One thought on “Dangerous Dan Does Deutschland!!!!

Leave a Reply

