Christmas Cards

Yes, these are Christmas cards! A coworker wrote me a card which had a Christmas design on it, but he had crossed out the word “Christmas” and had written the word “winter” instead, so that it said “Merry Winter.” I laughed at the absurdity of the situation, but it is a bit scary to me how the true meaning, even the history, of the Christmas holiday is slowly disappearing. (Here‘s an interesting article/excerpt from a book that speaks more on that.)

Anyway, this post is not about the horrible state of the world, it is about the happy state of making cards and showing people that you care about them!

Here are the cards I made for my coworkers. Some of them celebrate Christmas and some of them don’t, so I made sure to be respectful of their various beliefs.

I also made a card for my sister and her family. I haven’t given it to them yet because bad, wintery weather has gotten in the way, but I think it will be okay to post because they don’t really read this blog very often.

I made a little tag thing that has a pocket so that I can put gift cards inside!


To make the pocket, I folded a sheet of card stock over itself, leaving room for tabs that I could use to glue things in place. Then I cut it so that there was a triangular piece sticking out. Finally, I used scotch tape to close the pocket and stuck a heart on top so that it would look nicer. And thus ends my horrible explanation of how I made that card thing.

I hope everyone has a wonderful holiday! I plan to use this time to rest, see friends and family, maybe catch up on work, and most importantly, spend some quality time with God in His Word.

Yesterday during Christmas service, I learned that the birth of Jesus was the loudest, most obvious way of God getting our attention and showing us that He loves us. Even when we feel like He’s ignoring us, or that our prayers are like talking to a brick wall, He is at work behind the scenes. He is with us and He is good!

“But when the fullness of time had come, God sent forth his Son, born of woman, born under the law, to redeem those who were under the law, so that we might receive adoption as sons.” (Galatians 4:4-5)

One thought on “Christmas Cards

Leave a Reply

