Alchemy Coffee

Since I’m on a wonderful break from work, I was finally able to try a cool new coffee/brunch spot in Markham. I’m not a huge breakfast person (I prefer Hong Kong-style breakfast foods) but Alchemy Coffee has been getting a lot of buzz, so I thought I’d give it a shot! (Here is a link to my friend’s blog, which is where I first heard of this place! Also the pictures are SO much nicer.)

I’d read a couple of reviews before going, so I knew that the parking lot would be packed and that there would be a lot of people lining up to get a seat. I parked beside a car that also wasn’t in a real parking spot, then Dangerous Dan and I entered the restaurant and bravely ordered food without there being a seat available to us. Luckily, an older gentleman left his little table and we quickly snagged it! I don’t think we butted in front of anyone, so it was okay.

Dangerous Dan and I ordered an Eggs Benny to share. It had the usual hollandaise sauce, as well as peameal bacon, spinach, and avocado. Weirdly, my favourite part of the dish was the potatoes. They were so good. Everything else tasted just mediocre to me (I think I couldn’t really taste anything beyond the egg yolk and sauce).

This being a coffeeshop, Dangerous Dan and I also ordered coffee. I really cannot comment on the quality of the coffee because my preferred kind of coffee is a double double from McDonald’s or Tim Hortons. In other words, I like drinking sugar water with a hint of coffee flavour. I may try a mocha or some other pre-made coffee another time, but every time I make my own coffee, it is kind of a disaster, which is why I don’t go to Starbucks very much, and which is why I can’t make a fair and objective judgement on the coffee here.

My verdict is, if you’re uptown and are tired of the regular, franchised coffee fare, give Alchemy Coffee a go! My only advice is to go at very random hours (so not the morning) because it is usually filled with people, and the parking situation is a bit precarious. We went on the morning of a statutory holiday when I thought everyone would be asleep and instead it was overflowing with customers!

Alchemy Coffee / 4361 Highway 7, Unit 1, Markham / website

 

3 thoughts on “Alchemy Coffee

Leave a Reply

