Lettuce See If I Can Still Cook

I graduated from university one and a half years ago, and I haven’t really cooked since then. GREAT. It is a new year, and I’m trying to be more healthy! With that said, I decided to eat out at restaurants less, and cook for myself more. Dangerous Dan said I should eat less carbs (everything in moderation, I suppose!) and so we chose to make some LETTUCE WRAPS as our first cooking project of the year.

*Warning: The pictures are just horrendous. HORRENDOUS!

Here are my ingredients: a head of lettuce, half a white onion, 4-5 stalks of celery, and one carrot. We also got one packet of ground beef and one packet of ground pork.

Everything was very simple to make! We cooked the veggies (except for the lettuce), added in the meat, added some seasoning, and it was done!

wp-1484091620048.jpg

This is a picture of half-cooked veggies and meat. Do not consume meat if it looks like this! It is very unsafe!!!!

One of the more difficult parts of this recipe is ripping the lettuce. The lettuce we chose is not the right kind of lettuce for a lettuce wrap. Pieces came out all uneven; some were shaped like a giant star, while others were like little tiny leaves! Some friends have recommended butter lettuce or cabbage.

Finally, the fun part – constructing the lettuce wraps and eating them!

Simply spoon some of the meat/veggie mixture into the leaf, attempt to fold and close it up, then shove it all in your mouth! It’s important to have a plate underneath the lettuce wrap, as stuffing will fall out. Also, a napkin would be very handy, as this can get messy.

I found that this first recipe of 2017 tasted quite delicious, and I was even able to bring it to work for 3 days in a row, so it has great lasting power! (By the fourth day, the lettuce was not cooperating (it was basically a salad), so I just added rice to the mixture and that tasted great too!)

 

Leave a Reply

