Comedy Bar

I’m cool and hip and in my mid-twenties, so I went to a comedy bar with a couple of friends, because that’s what you do when you’re cool and hip and in your twenties! The real story is, my friend found a (since discontinued) Groupon deal and thought it’d be a fun and different activity!

I’m not normally someone who laughs at comedic acts. I like comedy in film and TV because there’s context and I’ve had a chance to connect with the characters! I laugh a lot in real life because life is so funny and again, it’s situational. But whenever someone gets up in front of a crowd to tell jokes with the goal of making me laugh, the most I can muster up is often a weak smile. (I guess this is how my students feel when I try to make jokes in class …)

When we arrived at Comedy Bar, the exciting Groupon deal allowed us $20 to use at the bar. Dangerous Dan and I got ourselves some pretty yummy sandwiches that came with chips! Yum! My suggestion is to arrive 30-45 minutes before the show if you want to eat there. The seats fill up fast and if you’re waiting around for your food, then you’re not getting a good seat! (We sat at the back where there were no tables, so it was pretty difficult to eat and hold our chips.) Also, I crunched my way through the first half of the show, which I hope wasn’t too distracting!

We watched Catch 23, an improvisational comedy show. Three teams (each with two members) competed to win the competition. (I don’t think there was any sort of prize involved.)

There were 3 or 4 rounds, and at the end of each round, audience members would rank the performance by applauding. There was also a more professional judge who Dangerous Dan saw in a commercial the next day! (Yessss, professional actors!!!) The host of the show was also very funny, and he wore a crazy colourful suit!

My favourite group of the night (which also won, and had won the week before) did a whole multi-episodic saga that included a wizard and a motorbike. The beauty of improv and comedy is that this epic adventure sprouted from a simple skit of an adult party gone wrong. I laughed quite a bit.

I wish I could end this post with a joke considering the subject matter, but I’m just not funny so I’ll stop here.

Comedy Bar / 945 Bloor Street West, Toronto /Β website

Leave a Reply

