A Canadian Weekend in Kingston and Ottawa

I actually didn’t celebrate Canada’s 150th birthday too much. On July 1, we stayed in Kingston because I didn’t want to deal with crowds in Ottawa. Much to my surprise (but really I should have known better), our nation’s lovely capital city was still celebrating when we arrived on July 2.

I have a few exciting events and activities to post about in the next few weeks, but until then, here are some pictures of Byward Market.

The past few times I’ve visited Ottawa, I always walked through the Byward Market area at nighttime when all of the vendors have closed up shop. This time, I was there in the morning, and I even went inside and learned a bit more about the history of the place. For example, a bell used to be rung at the start and end of each selling day, and the bell is still in the building, just collecting dust! I also saw a picture of the whole street covered in big bales of hay, which shows how important farming and cattle used to be to the good people of Ottawa.

Leave a Reply

