Pasta Shells

The other night, I attended a potluck. Since it is summer and I’m not working, I decided to really push myself and make something exciting instead of buying packs of Coke last-minute at Walmart. I had some leftover spinach in my fridge that I needed to use, so I tried to find a dish that would allow me to use some spinach. I got the idea of pasta shells from the internet, and then I abandoned the recipe and just did things my own way because I’m bad at following instructions.

I started off with some cooking first. (My plan was to bake, but I just wanted to be sure that everything would be safe and fully cooked!) Here are my pasta shells and ground pork. I accidentally put too much parsley, as you can see, but I decided to just mix it around and it actually wasn’t too overpowering. As for the pasta shells, you have to be very careful when you buy them at the supermarket! Many of the boxes already had broken shells in them, but I carefully chose one of the boxes at the back of the shelf. I put each shell into the water with extreme care so that nothing would crack, and nothing did! Cooking the pasta caused some of it to rip though, but it wasn’t too much of a problem!

Next, it was time to do some stuffing! I first put in the spinach (a few leaves for each shell), then the meat, then some grated mozzarella cheese, and finally, I doused the whole thing in tomato sauce. Then I realized that if I wanted a nice golden brown top, I would need to add more cheese. So I did. (I forgot to take a picture of the unbaked shells with the tomato sauce; I was sort of in a rush!)

I baked the whole pan for about 10 minutes at 350°F (or something close to that, can’t remember), and then it came out looking like this!

IMG_20170801_191619

People at the potluck said it was creative and tasted pretty good. It’s a pretty easy dish to replicate or to adapt to whatever flavours you want! I will probably try this again but with other ingredients. It was simple, didn’t take too long to make, and yummy!

Leave a Reply

